Home General News Parliament approves the new 4 Supreme Court Justices

Parliament approves the new 4 Supreme Court Justices


Parliament approves the new 4 Supreme Court Justices

Parliament approves the 4 Supreme Court Justices: The Minority in Parliament on Wednesday allowed cool heads to prevail after persistently threatening to resist passing Justice Clemence Honyenuga when Parliament approved the four Supreme Court Justices nominated by President Akufo-Addo.

The four who were vetted last week are Justice Issifu Tanko Amadu; Prof Henrietta MensahBonsu; Yoni Kulendi and Justice Clemence Honyenuga.

The four were recommended for approval by the Appointments Committee of Parliament after they had taken turns to be grilled by the house

They are to replace some Justices on the Apex Court Bench who are due for retirement.

Despite their earlier posture against Justice Honyenuga whom they accused of going against the ethics of his profession, the minority gave him their blessings.

They now join justices Nii Ashie Kotey; Nene Amegatcher; Samuel K. Marful-Sau; Agnes M.A Dordzie; Mariama Owusu; Avril Lovelace-Johnson and Gertrude Torkornoo, all appointed by President Akufo-Addo.

Others are Alfred Anthony Benin; Yaw Appau and Gabriel Pwamang appointed by former President John Mahama.

Nasiru Sulemana Gbadegbe was appointed by President John Evans Atta-Mills.

Julius Ansah, Jones Mawulom Dotse, Paul Baffoe-Bonnie and the Chief Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah were appointed by former President John Kufuor.

Making comments on the Floor of the Legislature today, Wednesday, May 20, 2020, the Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, pointed out that his side had moved past the comments.

“I do not think that anyone should want to hold this against him beyond I am sorry and I apologise except that I would urge that ethical standards and ethical values must be held at its highest level; at the level of the Supreme Court.”


–: MyNewsGH


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here