Akufo-Addo swears-in New EC Chair Jean-Mensa and others

President Akufo-Addo has today August 1, 2018, sworn into office the newly appointed Electoral commission Chairperson Jean-Mensa Adukwei alongside Samuel Tettey and Dr Eric Asare Bossman as deputies.

President Akufo-Addo nominated Jean Adukwei Mensa, Samuel Tettey and Dr Eric Asare Bossman, on July 23, 2018, to feel the vacant positions at the Electoral Commission after the dismissal of the former EC chair Charlotte Osei and her two deputies, Amadu Sulley and Georgina Opoku Amankwah.

The swearing-in of new EC Chair comes after the Supreme Court dismissed an injunction suit by a Ghanaian citizen, Fafali Nyonatorto, who sought to stop the President from continuing with the process of appointing a new Electoral Commission Chair.

This was to enable the Court to hear her substantive case in which she is challenging Charlotte Osei’s removal.

Nana Addo Rips Mahama Naked To Otumfuo At Manhyia

However, according to the seven-member panel of Supreme Court judges, the constitution in Article 2 (2) makes available remedies for a reinstatement if the court finds the removal of Charlotte Osei unconstitutional.

Share your news stories with us via [email protected]
OR WhatsApp us via + 233 50 535 2225

Written by Frank Amofa

One Comment

Leave a Reply

    One Ping

    1. Pingback:

    Leave a Comment

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Midland Saga: Watch the assaulted woman inspecting the two-bedroom mansion given to her by Midland Savings & Loans

    Akufo-Addo listed among top 20 of world’s 100 most influential people in digital governance